Track List

1. If I Rise
Vocals: Dido and A. R. Rahman
2. Festival
Vocals: Sigur Ros
3. Liberation
Vocals: A. R. Rahman
4. R.I.P.
Vocals: A. R. Rahman
5. Acid Darbari
Vocals: A. R. Rahman
6. If You Love Me (Really Love Me)
Vocals: Esther Phillips
7. Liberation In A Dream
Vocals: A. R. Rahman
8. Ca Plane Pour Moi
Vocals: Plastic Bertrand
9. Chopin: Nocturne No. 2
Vocals: Vladimir Ashkenazy
10. Lovely Day
Vocals: Bill Withers
11. Touch of the Sun
Vocals: A. R. Rahman
12. Liberation Begins
Vocals: A. R. Rahman
13. The Canyon
Vocals: A. R. Rahman
14. Never Hear Surf Music Again
Vocals: Free Blood

Album Credits

Release date: 2010

Studio:Fox Searchlight, Pathe

Label:Interscope Records



James Franco, Kate Mara, Amber Tamblyn



Music Composed and Produced by:

A. R. Rahman



Produced by:

Christian Colson and Danny Boyle




Fox Searchlight, Pathe



Directed by:

Danny Boyle




Interscope Records



Music Credits:


Never Hear Surf Music Again

Free Blood

(John Pugh)

Published by Rong Music ASCAP

Courtesy of Rong Music 2007 Rong Music


Lovely Day

Bill Withers

(Bill Withers/ Skip Scarborough)

Published by Unichappell Music Inc (BMI)

Golden Withers Music (ASCAP)

Courtesy of Columbia Records

By arrangement with Sony Music Licensing

1977 Sony Music Entertainment



Nocturne No. 2 in E Flat, Op. 9 No. 2

Vladimir Ashkenazy

Courtesy of Decca Music Group Limited

Under license from Universal Music Enterprises

1985 Decca Music Group Limited


Ca Plane Pour Moi

Plastic Bertrand

(Francis Jean Deprijck/Yves Maurice Lacomblez)

Published by Universal Music Publishing


Courtesy of AMC Records SA-NV

By arrangement with The Licensing Partnership UK Ltd

1977 AMC Records SA-NV


If You Love Me (Really Love Me)

Esther Phillips

Original French lyrics by Edith Piaf

Adaptation by Geoffrey Parsons

Music by Marguerite Monnot

Published by Editions Raoul Breton (SACEM)

Courtesy of Atlantic Recording Corporation

By arrangement with Warner Music Group

Film and TV Licensing 1964 Atlantic Recording Corporation



Sigur Ros

(Jon Thor Birgisson/Orri Pall Dyrason/ Georg Holm/Kjartan Sveinsson)

Published by Universal Music Publishing Ltd (PRS)

Courtesy of EMI Records Ltd.

2008 XL Recordings

2008 Sigur Ros under exclusive license to EMI Records Ltd.


If I Rise

Dido and A. R. Rahman

Music by A. R. Rahman

Lyrics by Dido Armstrong and Rollo Armstrong

Published by Fox Film Music Corp. (BMI), KM Musiq

Admin by Universal Music Publishing (BMI), Warner/Chappell Music Limited (PRS)

A. R. Rahman performs courtesy of KM Musiq

Dido performs courtesy of Sony Music Entertainment

2010 Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation




Orchestrator and Orchestral Conductor:

Matt Dunkley


Orchestra Leader:

Perry Montague-Mason


Orchestral Conductor:

Isobel Griffiths


Orchestral Assistant:

Lucy Whalley


Original Score Mixer:

Andy Richards


Sound Engineering and Additional Programming:

Viviane Chaix


Recording Studios:

KM Musiq Studios, Air Studios, Miloko Studios, Hear No Evil Recording Studio (London);

Panchathan Record-Inn (Chennai) and Nirvana Studios (Mumbai)



The Gleehive Children's Choir, Mumbai


Choir recorded at:

Octavious Studio, Mumbai


Choir arranged by:

Clinton Cerejo


Choir supervised by:

Dominique Cerejo


Choir Editing:

Premier Digital Mastering Studios, Mumbai


Choir sound engineers:

Aditya Modi, Nitish Kumar


Sound Engineering and Additional Programming:

Deepak P. A.


Music and Score Assistant:

Anne-Marie O'Sullivan


Music co-ordinators:

Samidurai and T. M. Faizuddin


Featured Musicians:


Ranjit Barot - Drums


Sanjay Divecha, Joel Shearer - Guitars


Karl Peters - Bass


Pete Lockett - Percussion



Harshdeep Kaur


Soundtrack album mastered by:

Reuben Cohen at Lurssen Mastering, Hollywood, CA


Album Engineers/Mixers:

Viviane Chaix, Deepak P. A., K. J. Singh


Original Film Score Published by Fox Film Music Corp. (BMI)

Courtesy of Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation

2010 Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation


Administrative Credits:


Executive in Charge of Music for Twentieth Century Fox:

Robert Kraft


Music Supervised for Twentieth Century Fox: Amy Driscoll


Business Affairs for Twentieth Century Fox: Tom Cavanaugh


Music Production Coordinator:

Rebecca Morellato


Music Clearance:

Ellen Ginsburg


Music Consultant:

Ian Neil


Soundtrack Produced by:

A. R. Rahman


Soundtrack Executive Produced by:

Danny Boyle


Executive Producer for Interscope Records: Tony Seyler


Business Affairs for Interscope Records: Marnie Nieves


Marketing for Interscope Records:

Ingrid Erickson


Soundtrack Production:

Gretchen Anderson


Art Direction:

Dina Hovsepian


I want to thank Danny Boyle, Christian Colson and Fox Searchlight for making this bold film... Dido for lending her healing voice to "If I Rise". Want to thank my team in the UK and Mumbai for helping me complete the score... In record time... (Matt Dunkley, Viviane Chaix, Anne-Marie O'Sullivan, Ranjit Barot and his band, Joel Shearer, Aditya Modi and Clinton, John Warhurst, Jeanette Haley, Andy Richards) Thanks Sam Schwartz for your persistence... :) Thanks to my Spiritual teacher for his guidance... And above all to the Creator for blessing us with good things still!

- A. R. Rahman


Thank you:


Alexander Beltran, Erin Bergers, Steve Berman, Simon Beaufoy, Jason Bentley, Kate Benay, Kathryn Braddick, Christian Colson, Benjamin M. Cook, Dennis Dennehy, Kathy Doherty, Dancemaster Todd Douglas, Allison Elbl, Ron Fair, Aaron Foreman, Jurge Grebner, Jeanette Haley, Paul Hatcher, Kerry Hickey, Rand Hoffman, Jimmy Lovine, Tomoko Itoki, Cary Jones, Dyana Kass, Robert Kelley, Gary Kelly, Martin Kierszenbaum, Diana LaPointe, Annick Lestabel, Jeffery Taylor Light, Julie Lockwood, Robert Minzer, Terry McBride, Diane McKain, Cathy Merenda, Bob Merlis, Ted Mico, Laura Netra, Amos Newman, Cindy Noriega, Anne-Marie O'Sullivan, Jo Ann Orgel, Deepak P. A., Edna Pletchetero, David Ponak, Greg Prink, Areli Quirarte, Aron Ralston, Carmen Rizzo, Ryan Rodriguez, Brenda Romano, Sam Schwartz, Jean-Marie Sohie, Chris Stephenson, Ryan Stockwell, Raquel Taylor, Roya Vakili, Jeanne Venton, Angela Vredenburg, Luke Wood, Ike Youssef, John Warhurst, Christine Wolff, Barbara Zamoyska